Janatha Garage


Janatha Garage (English: People's Garage) is a 2016 Indian Telugu-language action drama film written and directed by Koratala Siva, produced by Naveen Yerneni, Y. Ravi Shankar, and C. V. Mohan under their banner Mythri Movie Makers, and distributed by Eros International. The film features Mohanlal and Jr NTR in the lead roles with Samantha Ruth Prabhu, Nithya Menen , Devayani, Saikumar, and Suresh in supporting roles. The story revolves around Anand (Jr. NTR) an environmental activist who is recruited by Sathyam (Mohanlal), who operates a large automobile service center "Janatha Garage" and also undertakes law enforcement through a group of self-appointed automobile mechanics in their community without legal authority, typically because the legal agencies are thought to be inadequate.

Janatha Garage released worldwide on 1 September 2016. The film registered the highest opening for a Telugu film in 2016 and is the second highest Telugu opening of all time, behind Baahubali: The Beginning. The film has garnered two National Film Awards at the 64th National Film Awards—Special Jury Award for Mohanlal, and Best Choreography for Raju Sundaram. It also won seven Nandi Awards—Best Popular Feature Film, Best Actor (Jr. NTR), Best Supporting Actor (Mohanlal), Best Story Writer (Koratala Siva), Best Choreographer (Sundaram), Best Art Director (A. S. Prakash), and Best Lyricist (Ramajogayya Sastry).